Danger Close: The Battle of Long Tan


Feature Film (Australia)


South Vietnam, late afternoon on August 18, 1966 – for three and a half hours, in the pouring rain, amid the mud and shattered trees of a rubber plantation called Long Tan, Major Harry Smith and his dispersed company of 108 young and mostly inexperienced Australian and New Zealand soldiers are fighting for their lives, holding off an overwhelming enemy force of 2,500 battle hardened Main Force Viet Cong and North Vietnamese Army soldiers. With their ammunition running out, their casualties mounting and the enemy massing for a final assault each man begins to search for his own answer – and the strength to triumph over an uncertain future with honor, decency and courage. The Battle of Long Tan is one of the most savage and decisive engagements in ANZAC history, earning both the United States and South Vietnamese Presidential Unit Citations for gallantry along with many individual awards. But not before 18 Australians and more than 245 Vietnamese are killed.— Martin Walsh

Directed by Kriv Stenders
Written by Stuart Beattie, James Nicholas, Karel Segers, Paul Sullivan, Jack Brislee
Edited by Veronika Jenet
Sound Design Liam Egan

Music Written and Produced by Caitlin Yeo

Music Recorded and Mixed Evan McHugh
Soundtrack album Mastered by Lachlan Corrick
Preliminary Vocals and Piano Recorded by Sean Carey
Composer’s Assistant Andrew Scott
Orchestration and Music Preparation Jigsaw Music
Head Orchestrator Jessica Wells

Orchestrators Julian Langdon
,Matthew Chin, 
Ellie Cumming
Music Editor Jason Fernandez
Music Recorded at
 Church Street Studios, Studio D
Recording Assist – Damian De Boos-Smith and Maria Alfonsine
Vocals Sarah Belkner (lead vocal), Bonnie Stewart, Jo Fabro, Pat Powell, Dan Barnett, Caitlin Yeo, Miranda Carey, Peta Morris

Violin I Liisa Pallandi

Violin II Adrian Bendt

Viola I Andrew Jezek
Viola II Carl St Jaques

Cello I Rowena Mcneish

Cello II Jack Ward
Contrabass Joey Bisits
Flute, Accordion and Piano Caitlin Yeo

Drumset and Percussion Laurence Pike

Percussion Jess Ciampa